Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Showcasing 25 years of outstanding oratory from the Going West Writers Festival: Voices of Aotearoa

A feast of New Zealand writing and ideas on offer in volume transcribed from 25 years of Going West Writers Festival 

Imagine a party at which two dozen of our leading writers and thinkers gather to share views on a provocative range of themes of national significance.

Voices of Aotearoa invites the reader to join those festivities, just as the Going West Writers Festival has been drawing audiences to Auckland’s west since 1996 to hear from a host of speakers.

This smartly designed hardback draws on the Going West Trust’s complete sound archive to reproduce edited keynote speeches from the festival — addressing topical themes in literature, politics, the environment, culture, personal lives and national identity. 

On the menu are thought-provoking essays from the likes of Michael King and Maurice Shadbolt, personal reflections from Dame Fiona Kidman and Maualaivao Albert Wendt, poetry and song from Allen Curnow and Robert Sullivan, satire from Stephanie Johnson and Te Radar, and much more in between. 


Bookmarking the essays are a retrospective on the festival by  Going West Trust chair Naomi McCleary, and a postscript about adapting to the Covid-19 era from current festival director James Littlewood.

James' words are prophetic, as the proposed launch of Voices of Aotearoa ahead of Going West's 11 September event has had to be postponed until at least 9 October, due to Auckland's current lockdown.

Going West has proved adept at moving its festival online, and we're happy to follow for the launch. Happily Voices of Aotearoa remains a physical object and is now available for delivery or click and collect from good booksellers around the country!


The writers

The eminent authors featured in Voices of Aotearoa are:

Dame Christine Cole-Catley • Nigel Cox • Allen Curnow • Patricia Grace • Charlotte Grimshaw • Stephanie Johnson  • Dame Fiona Kidman • Michael King • Elizabeth Knox • Bernard Makoare • Paula Morris •  Rod Oram • Geoff Park • Vincent O’Sullivan • Chris Price • Te Radar • Dame Anne Salmond • Maurice Shadbolt • Tony Simpson • Robert Sullivan • Ngahuia Te Awekotuku • Dame Marilyn Waring • Ian Wedde • Peter Wells • Maualaivao Albert Wendt


Publication: 16 September 2021  |  RRP $49.99 |  ISBN:  978-0-947506-97-1

Hardback, 220 x 170 mm, 384 pages, b&w

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...